The Bookshelf Conversation: Troy Soos

August 17, 2015,204,203,200_.jpgWhile most baseball fiction leave me unimpressed, I was an early adopter of the work of Troy Soos, author of the Mickey Rawlings series of historical baseball mysteries. That’s quite an accomplishment when you think of the amount of work it takes to do any one of those well., who published first his first Rawlings book, Murder At Fenway Park, almost 20 years ago, recently released The Tomb That Ruth Built. Since the series is sequential, Rawlings, a brainy but average utilityman, has changed  teams several times between his literary “debut” in 1912 and his current stint with the New York Yankees in 1923. Other titles include Murder at Ebbets Field, Murder at Wrigley Field, Hunting a Detroit Tiger, The Cincinnati Red Stalkings, and Hanging Curve, which was published in 1999. It would be almost 15 years before Tomb was released as Soos took on a series of  non-baseball historical fiction as well as well as the non-fiction Before the Curse: The Glory Days of New England Baseball, 1858-1918.

Hard to believe I’ve know Soos for this long.  I did a profile of him in 1998 for the now-defunct Mystery Review (which you can read here).

We spoke recently about the challenges of such detail-driven writing as well as plans for Mickey Rawlings’ future.

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post:

script type="text/javascript"> var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-5496371-4']); _gaq.push(['_trackPageview']); (function() { var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true; ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://ssl' : 'http://www') + ''; var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();