CASEY award goes to author of Aaron bio

March 3, 2011

The winner of the 2010 CASEY Award, given to the best baseball book of the year by Spitball Magazine, is  Howard Bryant, author of The Last Hero: A Life of Henry Aaron.

Bryant also won the award in 2002 for Shut Out: A Story of Race and Baseball in Boston, thus becoming the first author to win multiple CASEYs.

The award will be presented at a luncheon on Sunday, March 6, at 2 p.m. at Wildman Walker’s Boomerang’s Bar & Grill, Cincinnati. Howard is not scheduled to appear at the event.

Mark Schmetzer and Joe Jacobs, coauthors of The Comeback Kids: Cincinnati Reds 2010 Championship Season and Dr. Tom Tomsick, author of Strike Three!, a memoir of his days with the Cleveland Indians organization, will be the guest speakers.

Cost is $10 and includes a copy of new issue of Spitball Magazine, a subscription for 2011 to Spitball and hot dogs. There will also be a book sale and a trivia quiz.

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post:

script type="text/javascript"> var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-5496371-4']); _gaq.push(['_trackPageview']); (function() { var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true; ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://ssl' : 'http://www') + ''; var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();