Reliever of the Year Award: One group’s opinion

October 19, 2010

As mentioned last week,  I belong to the Baseball Bloggers Alliance where I serve as president of the category of the BBA that defies definition. While most of the 230 or so blogs in the Alliance are team-centric, this “miscellaneous” merry band of men and women (we’re working on  a better designation) take a wider look at the national pastime, including our choices for various post-season awards.

The previous posts announced Dusty Baker as our choice for the Connie Mack Award (Manager of the Year), and Buster Posey, the San Francisco Giants catcher for the Willie Mays Award (Rookie of the Year). Now we turn our attention to the the top National League reliever for 2010, the Goose Gossage Award.

Using a 5-3-1 system for the top three choices, here’s the breakdown:

Brian Wilson, San Francisco Giants, 27 points (4-2-1)
Heath Bell, San Diego Padres, 25 (3-4-0)
Billy Wagner, Atlanta Braves, 6 (0-1-3)
Brad Lidge, Philadelphia Phillies; Ramon Ramirez, San Francisco Giants; Carlos Marmol,Chicago Cubs: 1 point each

So congratulations to Wilson, who saved a league-leding 48 games to go along with a 3-3, 1.81 ERA in 70 games.

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post:

script type="text/javascript"> var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-5496371-4']); _gaq.push(['_trackPageview']); (function() { var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true; ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://ssl' : 'http://www') + ''; var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();