Looks like we won’t be seeing any new Hall of Famer bios this year

December 8, 2014

At least not from the Veterans Committee output.

The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum’s Golden Era Committee announced balloting results Monday for its 2014 election of players, managers, executives and umpires. The ballot featured nine former players and one former executive and was considered by a 16-person committee featuring eight Hall of Famers, four veteran baseball executives and four historians/media members.

Dick Allen, former third baseman and first baseman with Phillies, Cardinals, Dodgers, White Sox and Athletics, and longtime Twins outfielder Tony Oliva each received 11 votes (68.8%) as the top vote-getters.

Dick Allen (11 votes, 68.8%); Tony Oliva (11 votes, 68.8%); Jim Kaat (10 votes, 62.5%); Maury Wills (9 votes, 56.3%); Minnie Minoso (8 votes, 50%); Ken Boyer, Gil Hodges, Bob Howsam, Billy Pierce and Luis Tiant received three or fewer votes each.

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post:

script type="text/javascript"> var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-5496371-4']); _gaq.push(['_trackPageview']); (function() { var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true; ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://ssl' : 'http://www') + '.google-analytics.com/ga.js'; var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();