Spitball names CASEY Award finalists

November 13, 2012 · 0 comments

Spitball Magazine announced the finalists for the publications annual CASEY award for best baseball book of the year.

The titles include:

  • Banzai Babe Ruth: Baseball, Espionage, and Assassination during the 1934 Tour of Japan, by Robert K. Fitts
  • Bill Veeck: Baseball’s Greatest Maverick, by  Paul Dickson
  • Connie Mack: The Turbulent and Triumphant Years, 1915-1931, by Norman L. Macht
  • Driving Mr. Yogi: Yogi Berra, Ron Guidry, and Baseball’s Greatest Gift, by Harvey Araton
  • Gil Hodges: The Brooklyn Bums, The Miracle Mets, and the Extraordinary Life of a Baseball Legend, by Tom Clavin and Danny Peary
  • Golden Boys: Baseball Portraits, 1946-1960, by Andy Jurinko
  • The Last Natural: Bryce Harper’s Big Gamble in Sin City and the Greatest Amateur Season Ever, by Rob Meich
  • The Might Have Been: A Novel, by Joseph M. Schuster
  • Pinstripe Empire: The New York Yankees from Before the Babe to After the Boss, by Marty Appel
  • Willie Mays Aikens: Safe at Home, by  Gregory Jordan

Appel won the 1996 CASEY for Slide, Kelley Slide.

Only two novels — The Celebrant by Eric Rolfe Greenberg (1983), and Play for a Kingdom, by Thomas Dyja (1997) — have won the award.

The winner will be announced next year.


Be sociable, share the Bookshelf!