Save the Date: Casey Award banquet set

January 12, 2012 · 1 comment

The winner of the 2011 CASEY Award will be announced Monday, January 23.

Finalists for the coveted literary prize include:

  • The Art of Fielding: A Novel, by Chad Harbach
  • Baseball in the Garden of Eden: The Secret History of the Early Game, by John Thorn
  • The Big Show: Charles M. Conlon’s Golden Age Baseball Photographs, by Neal McCabe & Constance McCabe
  • Bottom of the 33rd: Hope, Redemption, and Baseball’s Longest Game, by Dan Barry
  • Campy: The Two Lives of Roy Campanella, by Neil Lanctot
  • Fenway 1912: The Birth of a Ballpark, a Championship Season, and Fenway’s Remarkable First Year, by Glenn Stout
  • The Greatest Minor League: A History of the Pacific Coast League, 1903-1957, by Dennis Snelling
  • The Kings of Casino Park: Black Baseball in the Lost Season of 1932, by Thomas Aiello
  • 21: The Story of Roberto Clemente, by Wilfred Santiago
  • 56: Joe DiMaggio and the Last Magic Number in Sports, by Kostya Kennedy

The 29th annual CASEY Awards Banquet sponsored by Spitball Magazine, celebrating and honoring the best baseball books published in 2011, will be held onĀ  Sunday, March 18, at 2 p.m. in Cincinnati, Ohio.

The event is open to the public. For more information, visit the Spitball website.

Be Sociable, Share!
  • Jay

    If Thorn doesn’t win, something is seriously wrong.

    A shame they can’t have fiction and non-fiction winners.

Previous post:

Next post:

script type="text/javascript"> var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-5496371-4']); _gaq.push(['_trackPageview']); (function() { var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true; ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://ssl' : 'http://www') + ''; var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();